I will explain the salsa at the end.
So it turns out that my wednesday's are VERY long. I go from 8:20 until 12:10. Then lunch. THen I start up at 1:30 and go until 3:40. Thankfully I have good teachers and interesting classes!
So our teacher for our French Oral class is a young energetic lady. She wore this purple salsa type dress with the layers and pleats and bright pink shoes to class. Character. Chelsea and I were discussing whether or not she was a salsa dancer, because it just seemed like she was...So Chelsea went up and asked her! And she nearly exploded. She was like "AH OUI! How did you know??" And we tried to explain how she just seemed like it haha. She then told us 4 different places we could go salsa and how one has free salsa lessons on Wednesday nights! Heh.
We talked to some of our friends and decided that Chels and I would go downtown and find the place, and find the time of the lessons, then we would all go try it out. It took us over an hour to find the place, not because it was far, but it was hidden. Ugg. THey like, take down all the signs and decorations during the day so it just looks like the back entrance to a store or something.
So after a nap and dinner, we headed out. I wore a skirt, nice and flowy, and after we found it (easily seen at night time) we nervously entered. It was SO awkward haha. the lessons hadn't started yet, and people were just sitting, sipping drinks. And the place is NOT big, so I know that we stuck out like a sore thumb. Anyway. We found a table finally (out of the 6 available), that did not have a 'reserved' sign on it, and huddled in the corner waiting for something to happen.
The teacher yelled "Allez!" and all of a sudden, all thepeople I thought were just there to relax and have drinks hopped up to the small dance floor! Excellent, we weren't going to be the only ones. Yes, all the instructions were in French, yes the small bar/dance club looked like it was straight out of Cuba, Yes, we were lost most of the time. But we started to get the simple moves down. And soon it became enjoyable! Then after dancing solo, he tells everyone to get in a big circle with a partner. Chelsea. Partner. But he did not like that and moved me away by myself inbetween two couples! I was like "uhhh". But apparantly we were going to be rotating partners so in one rotation I would have a partner and there would just the a gap where one person wouldnt have a partner. But before we could start a random guy came up and in words I did not understand (but through context clues I did) asked if I was by myself. Obviously I was. So we were matched. He smelled SO strongly of cigarettes and cologne. Goodness.
The music starts, we attempt the easy dance steps. I fail.
Partner switch! Yay I get another shot at this. A little better this time! Switch! Ok, I think I can do this. Even though I do a different dance move every time(it always depends of if the guy is doing the correct thing or just his own little jig). There were all ages of people. From my age up to mid 50's I'm guessing. So that was fun. And the majority of the guys had NO clue what they were doing, and a fraction of them did, and those led well.
By the end I was definitely sweating and having a good time. But then, the lesson was over! We survived. Haha. We decided not to stay and dance on our own and headed out.
Hah, that is an experience I will not forget. And some people want to go back next week. I will consider it. I am SO uncoordinated though. (Once during the lesson he added clapping to the dance moves,and well...let's just say I stuck to the footwork). So we shall see!
I got back and did my 5 minutes of homework before crashing in my bed. The end!
We are going to salsa dance. It is decided.
ReplyDeletei cannot picture this in the slightest. especially after our zumba experience..
ReplyDelete