Well, not now, but I was on a boat for quite a bit of today. Wow today, again was a very interesting and fun day. The days just keep getting more and more fun.
Start from the beginning, we woke up, and went to our appointment at 10:30am to get our student card. It was on campus so that was nice to be able to wander around and feel more studenty. The people doing it were students, and The guy I went and sat down at, was like, "Have you seen Psycho?" And I, in a very sick voice (it left me this morning because I'm still sick), was like, "Haha yes", and he was like, "Your last name.." And I finished the sentence "Yeah Bates Motel!" Hahaha. People in the States don't get my last name being part of the classic movie, and yet some french college student did! How funny. I wanted to say more but I didnt want to speak in his face being sick, and He didn't know much english so I couldnt convey what I wanted to.
After getting my pic taken for my card and stuff, I went to get in the cashier line to go pay my social security (200 euro...). A guy gets in line behind me, and you can tell he like, wants to talk? He then asks me a question about where to get the card, and I attempt to help him, but I am speaking so quietly, my voice refusing to work, that it is a tad difficult. But we keep talking. I thought he was French at first, but it turns out he is from Spain, ( I can't tell accents apart), and was studying in St. Louis, Missouri, and decided to study abroad from his study abroad and come to France to learn French. CRAZY. He was nice though, and I met his friend that came too. So we chilled in line, then I got my student card, and paid, and Genesis, Noelle, and I went to meet up with the group going on a boat ride to the ocean! Free, compliments of the foreign exchange student program. Chelsea, another American, meets up with us and we walk down to the docks and hop on this big boat with 2 levels, the top is in the sun with probably 80 seats or so, then the inside level with about the same, probably more.
It was a BEAUTIFUL day today. And there was expected rain I thought, but no, warm, and sunny all day. ( I got burnt). So the 4 of us just sit down and talk for a while enjoying the scenery and such. It was lovely. Then I hear English voices behind me, so I turn and ask these 3 girls where they are from! And it turns out all three of them go to the University of North Dakota. Got some nice Northern accents too haha. They are very nice and outgoing and we all make friends immediately. When the boat gets to Ou'estriam, all 7of us walk around together and talk alot. We got some ice cream and walked on the beach some, and about 2 hours later just went back to the boat to leave haha, short field trip.
I had eaten nothing at this point by the way. Not having time for breakfast or lunch, my first food intake was some ice cream...then I had a small cup of Fanta at the boat ( they said they were providing a cocktail and food! But it turned out to be juice and cookies... fail). Then we head back. I saw the Spaniards who had kind of chilled on their own and said hi, but I never got to know them any.
The boat ride back was way more relaxed. Well..not at first. First the random French people who were in charge decided that each country there should go to the intercom and sing a song! HAHA it was awesome. First the people from Ghana went up and there are a ton of them, so they are all clapping and doing their African thing. THen a girl from China went up and sang a super sweet pretty song in chinese, then some american people (Noelle, a north dakota girl, and some random guy) sang a short version of God bless america, belted it really, and a few other countries went after. It was quite entertaining haha.
There was a strong wind the whole time, and I was exhausted and my fuel tank was still on empty, so I didnt really talk much on the way back, just sat.
We picked up some cold pizza from a Boulangerie on the way home, and I couldnt even finish it even though I hadn't really eaten all day. (ice cream and fanta dont count..). I definitely think my stomach has shrunk being here. I am still experimenting and eating all these new delicious foods, but that is sometimes the only meal of my day because breakfast has been fairly non-existant, and so we eat a brunch and a lunner or something. But it is fine because I am still going to bed full each night. I guess.
I got back and realized I was sun burned on my nose..and forehead...and I passed out on my bed for like an hour even though it was only 6:00 pm. When I awoke. We checked to see what level we got placed in!! It wasnt posted until 7 pm. ACK
I am in A21. Which is the 2nd level (A1, A2, B1, B2, C1). That seems to be pretty on par with my skill level, and this week with our testing I will find out if it is where I will stay permanently. So excited to start classes on Monday. My schedule is crazy though. I have 1 long class that lasts a few hours, then a short break than another long class. And that is monday-thursday. No class this friday though! Then the next week we will get a new schedule with our finalized classes :).
Now I am super super tired. THe north dakotans were trying out an Irish pub tonight and although it would be fun to go and practice french with people you meet there, I feel too sick and too tired to go. SO we ran over before the meeting time to tell them and then got some phone numbers. Now. Off to bed!
"the days keep getting more and more fun" - i love it. so happy :)
ReplyDelete