What? Kaitlyn is studying abroad in France? Oh sweet let's see how it is going!

Saturday, September 25, 2010

Paris day one.

Ok. I am going to skip whatever days I missed in order to explain my trip to Paris. I am writing this from the first hostel I have ever stayed in and it is SO nice. Probably more on the expensive side for hostels you can find (31 euro/bed) but it is very clean, nice, and safe.

I did not think I would like Paris so much. I never thought I would fall in love. I have. In the past 15 hours I have gone from skeptic tourist to confirmed lover. Wow. Wow.

I don't even know if I have the words to describe my feelings. We left Caen at 6am and got to Paris around 8:30? There was a slight mechanical delay that put us back 20 minutes or so. We immediately got our metro passes for the two days we would be there and headed up to Sacre Coeur (Sacred Heart). I never knew that the metro was so easy to use! As long as you look at a map often enough, before too long I had it all figured out (I became the designated map/direction person, which I was happy about). Also, Noelle and I decided to share a backpack. We both filled the backpack that Paula lent me so graciously and As I started to walk around with it (I had the first 2 hour shift carrying it) I could DEFINITELY feel it in my back haha. But the awe of Paris quickly distracted me. Sacre Coeur is on a hill. Although we took the metro up there, we still had quite a few steps to climb. I'm glad we did that first before the wear and tear of walking all day caught up with me. But wow this massive church was beautiful. Even though there were tourists everywhere we went, I didn't mind at all. It is easy to ignore them and just focus on the beauty of whatever we were looking at.

Sacre Coeur. We walked around, and I actually just sat down in a pew for 5 minutes or so to pray and just fill up for the morning. Such a joyful way to start my morning! The little stress and annoyance of the backpack quickly vanished as I was reminded of how amazingly blessed I am to be over here in the first place.

After we headed to the Louvre. Took a quick metro trip or two and were there! we walked in the garden and when we got close enough to see the monstrous palace that it is, we also saw the line that was there to enter. Thankfully RIck Steves (the best european guide book EVER, and I am a guide book skeptic) told us in his book of a different entrance, which we found with ease and got in free with our student cards!
The Louvre is massive. The paintings can take up entire walls, Napoleon's apartment was stunning, and Mona Lisa, well was so jam packed with people that I could not study her, just take a quick picture! We also saw these tall guys in line, big, foreign looking, attractive, guys. We were about to ask them what country they were from when the moment vanished. But then all of a sudden we glanced up and they had gotten stopped by some randoms and were taking pictures. These two guys were somehow famous! We stalked them for a little bit. Then they disapeared so we said if we saw them again (unlikely) we would ask who they were haha. We saw them again. Chelsea bravely went up, they had gotten a lot of attention. And we talked to them for a second. DId not get names but they are two pro wrestlers in the WWE haha. Super nice, American, which was weird, but our curiosity was satisfied. We got to see so much art (most of it I did not recognise), a lot of sculptures, and just well, as much as we could in the few hours we spent there.
Then we headed to the Island to see Saint-Chapelle and the Conciergerie (Where Marie-Antoinette was held before her execution). We were supposed to pay but we asked for a student discount and they let us in free too! Neither were super spectacular though compared to everything else haha.

Next. Notre Dame. Massive. Expansive. Breathtaking. MASSIVE line to get in. We decided we had seen many churches and even though it was Notre Dame, we would have to continue on.
Next, Deportation Memorial. It is a memorial for the 2,000,000 ish French that were killed in Concentration Camps during WW2. It was small but very beautiful.

By this time, it was around 5pm and we headed to our Hostel to check in and drop off our bags for the evening. 'OOPS! hostel' it is called haha. Very nice hostel. Clean and we found it with no problem! It is in the southeast side in the Italian section? Tons of shops and food in a not touristy part at all. Perfect for dinner. Especially since all I had eaten that day was 3 or 4 (don't judge) small chewy bars, tea, and starbucks coffee (YES I found one :) hehehee). We freshened up in our room then went and got some of the best italian food I have ever eaten and a small in-expensive place. THe staff, although on the slow side were very friendly and gracious with our struggling French (As everyone in France thus far has been with me).

After, at around 9ish we headed to see the Eiffel Tower at night. And the minute we walked up the metro station at our stop I was taken aback. Yes I had seen the Eiffel Tower some during the day, but it was distant and rusty looking to be honest. But at night, it sparkles on and off with lights always shining, and when we walked out of the metro and were confronted with it right before our eyes, it was sparkling. Ack! LIke I said, I did NOT know I would like Paris this much. We walked there, very weary of scammers and pick pocketers, and made our way to the line to go to the 2nd level! Getting a student discount, it was only 6.40 euro to go up there, the first sight we had to pay for all day. WOW. The view. The city. The cheers in the background as someone on the other side got engaged (we think). Was so fun! We went picture happy (It is way easier to when virtually everyone has their camera out, you don't feel judged as a tourist..because everyone is..). It got a bit chilly up at the top but it did not take away from the beauty at all. :)

I was in an eternal state of joy all day. It was weird, My body ached most of the day and I found it SO easy to ignore. I didn't eat for most of the day, and I didn't notice. Maybe Paris just does something to you, it captures all of your attention. This was my experience today. I'm sure that other people in my group had different reactions and feelings, Paris is weird that way, but we had a wonderful time. Tomorrow, still more planned! Must. see.everything.

We, before even leaving, decided to cut out Versailles until next Paris trip because it is far out of the way. And we also are going so fast and hard this trip that next trip will be a more leisurly chill trip. This is the trip to Go GO GOOO and see SEE SEEEE. And I love it.

Oh. When we were waiting in line for the Saint-Chapelle (one of the only lines we waited in), an older couple started conversation with me and then the whole group. They were so nice, from New York, and we had a lovely chat for 10 minutes or so. Just a fun little tidbit.

Also. THe 2 people sharing the room with us is this random older french couple. And by older I mean probably 30's or 40s. But that is old for hostels, since usually only youth stay in them. But they were already asleep when we got back tonight. THey might even be gone when we get back in the morning too.

This is long. I could say twice as much. I know I missed some stuff.

The weather was perfect. Overcast and cool. aka no blazing sunlight, and a nice breeze to keep you cool as you speed around town :)

I also stubbed my toe at one point. It was incredibly painful. No blood. No worries. Hah.

No comments:

Post a Comment