What? Kaitlyn is studying abroad in France? Oh sweet let's see how it is going!

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

First day of OFFICIAL class

Well, today began my first day of regularly scheduled classes. I have now begun the routine that will continue until mid-december, and well, Mondays are going to be a toughie. I go from 10:30am-5:40pm with a 1hr20min lunch break. With three different classes though, things stayed interesting. I mean, it was only the first day. I started with writing, and I have the same teacher as orientation week and she was super nice so that is exciting! That was long, and almost boring, but I learned some challenging things! So that is good and interesting. And I have homework in that class. All the rumours that there is no homework...wrong.

Lunch break. Cafeteria. Good pizza and salad.

Headed to a class on the main campus which is a speaking/writing workshop. Super flexible class, and we attempted to write poems from the first person view as being a monument. For example (in french though) "My name is the Grand Canyon, I am a black hole. I swallow all that fall". Yes, profound, deep. I could publish it. But in french it is much more difficult to write, and therefore, exactly what she wanted haha. Awk.

Went to the last class of the day, Phonetics. I was excited for this class because I have never done any type of phonetics class in my life. My teacher's name is "Fabien" which just reminds me of Fabio and makes me laugh off the bat. Turns out we are in a lab where each seat has a headphone/mic set and some buttons on the table. Our teacher is SUPER animated and funny and pronounces things in a way where it sounds perfect, but also funny. He knows it is funny. I have uncontrollable laughter for probably the first 5-10 minutes of class. I try to stifle it when he looks my direction. It is not the fact that we are awkwardly repeating random syllables after him, it is just the whole scenario of phonetics plus a funny teacher. Any how. Then we put on the headset and he puts on one and when he speaks you can hear it in your headset, and when you repeat after him you can hear yourself too, and everyone else is dimmed out by the surround sound of your own noise cancelling type headsets. After doing that for an hour, I was in a great mood. I love phonetics! (Also there is no final exam at the end of the semester..)

Well, it is weird to end classes and it be 5:40 at night. But Chelsea and I talked some and decided we wanted to see if "Des Hommes et Dieux" (Some Men and God) was playing anywhere in Caen, Since we already went to a discussion on it haha. We found it playing at 8pm and pm, so we parted for like an hour, Noelle and I made dinner, and then Ed and Chelsea came over for dinner. Ed, Chelsea and I then headed across town to go see this movie at a random theater. It was actually super close to where we went to church on Sunday. We literally sit down right as Previews are going and the lights dim as we get comfortable in our seats. Perfect.

The movie, in french, no subtitles, was very good. It was about a true story, and the way the film is made, it was very life like? Aka, no background music, a lot of scenes that just show normal life type actions (man going to retrieve wood for 1 whole minute, end scene), but it was very interesting, and with lots of context clues, I understood the movie.

After, Chelsea and I had a giggle fit in the lobby over a stuffed bunny statue in the corner (we were also tired..) and the three of us headed back to the tram. It is so nice having month passes for the tram. We never have to worry about having the right amount of coins anymore to buy one trip tickets. SO nice.
Got back. Sleep time. Good day. Again. :)

No comments:

Post a Comment