What? Kaitlyn is studying abroad in France? Oh sweet let's see how it is going!

Wednesday, September 8, 2010

The raindrops keep falling on my headddddddd....

But don't worry, my eyes won't be turning red. Yesterday was a fantastic day. We decided to stay in Caen and explore the mens' and womens' abbeys. So we woke up, I checked my good ol' facebook, and we waited for Genesis to arrive on her bike. She got here at aroun 12:30 then we headed to town to get some lunch! We love to go to Boulangerie's Which are like, pastry sandwich shops. I got this pizza baguette thing? Not quite sure what it is. But it was delicious and filling. Then we saw "Fruity Cafe" and they had smoothies so we decided to try them! I got a chocolate one, which kind of defeats the purpose, but it was kind of thin, but good! Expensive so I won't be a regular guest.

Then we went to find the Abbaye aux hommes. Men's Abbay. It was beautiful. SO beautiful. We wandered around and just looked at everything. It has the tomb of William the Conquerer who was the founder of the church. We also saw some bones of some guy, or Saint, or something that were over 1000 years old. Ew. Yet awesome. They still use the big chapel area for Catholic mass on Sundays and stuff. Legit. Then we went L'eglise Saint-Pierre. It is right in the middle of the town where we always go and there is a lot of reconstruction going on on the outside to restore it some, and it is beautiful too, such history. And finally we headed to the Abbaye aux Dames, Women's Abbey. Of course, it was spectacular also, it had the tomb of Mathild? Some Duchess Matilda or something, she was some royalty in the Normand Clan a long time ago. I loved it, it was peaceful and not crowded with tourists or anything at any of them.  Finally we walked back to get some food, and headed back to the dorm. And then the rain started.

We had to pull out the umbrellas for the walk home, and it hasn't really stopped since, and it is morning now. Creates a very chill atmosphere though?

So last night, I was sitting in my room, playing Spider Solitaire..and in the room next to mine I start to hear some craziness from the girls next door. Here is what I wrote on my computer:

I have no clue what is going on a few doors down..

I hear a lot of girls laughing, and then suddenly all these animal noises..like a sheep 'baaaaing', a dog, more dog barking, quacking, SO strange. Basically, amidst French conversation and laughter, they are making random animal noises? Hah..also, there are a lot of pots clanging in the kitchen, they must have wanted a midnight snack. Not that it's midnight. It's only 10:40.

That is what I wrote haha. Awk. Anyway, off to a grand day in rainy Caen


Here are some pics!

Outside of the Abbaye aux Hommes! It looks like a castle
In front of William the Conquerer's tomb in Abbaye aux Hommes

This is from the beach the other day (see how far the water was! And we were considered 'close')

1 comment: