Well today was super chill and hectic all at the same time.
I started of my day, around 11 by the time I ate breakfast and got ready and all that, heading to the British Library. Now this was probably the place I had been looking forward to the most so far, because it was free, and had a lot of original manuscripts from dozens of brilliant composers, authors, and the like. So finally I was getting to go! When I got off the Tube, which was also right near a massive train station, I did not know exactly where to go, so I just kind of wandered around until I began to see signs for it hah. This became a theme of my day.
I found it in no time, and soon, I was admiring original manuscripts from the Bronte sisters, of Canterberry (spelling?) Tales, early prints of Shakespeare, scribbles by the Beatles, sprawlings of the 'Wedding March" piano music, early printings of the Bible in various languages, and one of their gems, one of original copies of the Magna Carta! So I spent quite a while just wandering around, attempting to read old handwritings, and getting my fill of literature :)
They also had, right in a different room, an exhibit of the language English.There were interactive displays, and the person that made the massive display, was looking into accents, and different dialects around the world and how they were created. Super interesting! I didn't want to leave the library after the display, so I went to the cafe and got a cappuccino (my new favorite at the moment) and read my book some/planned where to go next.
I decided the next place to go was to walk to the Soho district of London. Supposedly super trendy and good food and whatnot, so I started walking, little did I realize, it was a Saturday, and Christmas shopping time, basically it was PACKED on the streets. This helped because I really had no clue where I was going, so I just followed the masses. But honestly I started to get a bit stressed out. I love big cities, busy streets, lots of people, I don't know what got to me, but I had to take a breather in a 'Body Shop' because the pace of the streets was just a bit intense for some reason. After that, I was back out. And then I became very happy. Why? I saw first, American Apparel, then URBAN OUTFITTERS, then GAP! ack ack ack. Only pretty much my favorite stores ever. So I popped in all three. I want to shop SO BAD. I am in a clothes buying mood. But, I can't. I don't have money to, and I don't have space in my bags to. Sad. I love the European style. Londoner's style is different from Parisians style, and yet they are similar? And I love both of them. I need a new wardrobe haha. That is a lie. But I want one. I will transform it slowly.
After that, I wandered a bit more, found a Tube station, and headed to the Science Museum. I love interactive things haha, and it's free, so I chilled there until it closed. Then I walked up a main shopping street and looked at the wonderfully decorated Harrods! Super pretty. After that I went and got a Starbucks and a muffin, intending to sit down, but there was no space, so I headed back to the hostel. It was only around 7pm? maybe 8. But I ate my muffin and then promptly fell asleep for 3 ish hours. Then awoke, and could not sleep until around 2 am. Bad news to take a 'nap' so early haha. But shmeh. Life goes on
No comments:
Post a Comment