What? Kaitlyn is studying abroad in France? Oh sweet let's see how it is going!

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Getting to Dublin and my first day there.

MONDAY

Well getting to Dublin was an adventure. As is everything I guess. I left my hostel around 8am so I could get to the train station around 1/2 an hour before my train left at 9:10 (ish). I ate a quick breakfast, tried to get my overstuffed backpack zipped closed (always an interesting task) and quickly checked out. I just so happened to be using the Tube at morning 'rush hour' so it was packed. But thank the Lord, he allowed me to never have to wait for the next tube. Always managing to squeeze on, even with my stuffed backpack.

I got to the train station, and easily found my train, which hadn't even arrived yet. I found my car, took a seat, and got comfortable after the train did arrive. I sat in a 4 seater one (2 seats facing 2 seats with a table in betwen), and a 30 year old ish man joined me. He was British. and we had a nice chat for a bit before I fell asleep. The 3.5 hour train ride went quickly, and soon I was in Holyhead, Whales! I had no clue they had their own language (Welsh) and the signs sure did look funny. The train went directly to the ferry terminal, and I got off, got a muffin and coffee, and waited around 1/2 an hour before boarding the ferry! THERE WERE SO MANY IRISH PEOPLE. I LOVED IT. I love love love their accents, their family orientated culture, their lively attitudes, and friendly demeanors. I couldn't get the smile off my face. I probably looked like an odd foreigner.

I got on the ferry and got comfortable in these nice chairs with a table in the middle. There was no assigned seatining so I could sit anywhere. The 3.5 hour ferry was a tad boring, so I tried to nap. Soon, I was in Dublin! The ferry terminal is not quite in the city, and I hadn't planned yet how I was getting there. I looked outside, there was one bus, so I walked up, and asked where it was going and if I could get to the city center. An old irish man heard my question (and my accent probably) and chimed in asking where I was going. I explained and he said I was good to take th bus and then gave me more specific directions for after! I found the hostel easily, even though it was dark out..it gets dark here around 4:30 pm. crazy. hah

I checked in, met 2 australian girls I was sharing a room with, then got on my internet in the kitchen for a bit! Then I realized I was starving. Having only eaten a muffin since my toast at breakfast, and a cup of coffee, my stomach wanted real food. So I went to a local grocery store, got some pasta, sauce, and chicken. THen used the hostel's expansive kitchen to cook some delicious dinner! Mmm. then I waited for my friend Katrina to arrive later that night. Then sleep!

TUESDAY

Katrina and I woke up, wanting to just explore and get to know Dublin. Which is not a very big city. We just started walking around the city, and we did just that! We found some fun stores to go into, a few random irish looking monuments, and before we knew it a few hours had passed. We kept walking, then popped into a cafe/restuarant for some late lunch. It was delicious. We got a soup to start, then different sandwiches that came with fries for our main course. Yummmm. We ended up sitting and talking for 2 and a half hours because we never asked for our check, which apparantly you have to do if you want to get it hah. Then we finally did and he forgot for another 20 minutes or so hah. Needless to say we were there forever. Good thing we weren't in a hurry to go anywhere.

After, we went back to our hostel for a bit before wanting to go to an authentic Irish pub! We went to the touristy district, Temple Bar area, because it was close, and easiest, and went to one of the nearest pubs where we saw live music! It was so fun because they played very classic irish songs along with a lot of popular other songs with an irish twist. We enjoyed just sitting, people watching, and enjoying the friendly fun loving atmosphere. We left around 1:00am (we didn't get there until around 10:30pm) where we promptly crashed in our beds asleep hah.

Sunday, December 12, 2010

London, Sunday, Church, Speaker's Corner. Win.

Well. Today was Sunday. My last full day in London. Already. And I say it again, time is moving too fast.

I had my usual breakfast, and every morning just about I've met people (yesterday an Italian guy and a guy from Virginia Tech) and today a guy from Portugal! Always interesting. After, I headed to church. Hillsong has a church plant here so I wanted to check it out! It was interesting. After, I wanted to go to Hyde Park because I wanted to go back to the 'Winter Wonderland' market, get some food, and then walk over to Speaker's Corner to hear some people on their soapboxes. Well the Wonderland was PACKED. But I managed to get some german type fried potatoes with a sauce and such, so I took it and ate it on a park bench and people watched for a bit. The I continued on to the Speakers Corner.

It was so interesting. The people that get up on soapboxes in the first place are a bit on the unique side, but that is an understatement even. There were 4 people who stood out the most to me. One guy was looking very 'Texan' actually, or just cowboy ish. Because he was definitely from Britain. He was preaching about Jesus and Christianity, a bit off maybe, but he had the main bit right haha. But he was just, interesting. I think that is my word for they day.

The next guy was someone who, for the majority of the time, I had no clue what point he was trying to make. He was trying to speak super articulatedly, and use big words, to express his opinion on evolution. I finally found out he was against evolution, but I never understood what his reasoning was, except that he was a Christian, but he never got around to an actual stance. Interesting fellow though.

The third most interesting (these are going in rank of intensity and interesting-ness), was a man, who I think was a Marxist, explaining what was going on with Wikileaks and Julian Assange right now, explaining how corrupt the British and American Governments are with all of the cover-ups. Expressing also how it was in-just to have Assange locked up right now. He was a very good speaker, good at expressing his point, dealing with people who interrupted, entertaining, and had good points. I took a bit of video to show Matthew (assuming he has been following with the Wikileaks stuff too) haha.

And, the last, and by far, most outspoken, insane, speaker I listened to (I walked by about 4 times and stopped to observe) was a woman, her name Diana I think, WHO WAS INSANE. The first time I walked up, she had stopped talking because some man had used a cuss word in her direction (Half of Speaker's Corner is the audience who is allowed to heckle, comment, insult, joke about, or ask questions, to the speaker) and she had just started staring at him, obviously insulted. She said a little something about God, and I figured she was trying to preach God to people and had gotten a bit flustered at people heckling her, so I thought I would watch to see what happened next, if she regained composure. Well BOY was I WRONG. I, like, can't even put into the right words her stance, on life.

Basically, she was using God, and her opinion in general, to state that Britain is for the British, and all the immigrants were going to pay for invading her country, and that they needed to leave because they were ruining her culture. That is a light version of what she was saying. And she was this small, white haired, white woman, talking to almost ALL middle easterners, insulting their faces, but it was such crazy talk that they weren't even insulted, they were just making jokes with each other and her at her. They were quite funny. I'm glad that they  didn't get angry. There is no point in trying to reason with a lunatic. She was just saying stuff like, british territory was her God given land, and not theirs, and that she had a right to be there, not them, even the people, like the younger generation that is born in Britain (who's parents immigrated over), she said do not belong, that the will never be British, etc etc. I can't even remember all she said, she would just yell and  call people out, saying that she could tell they were getting scared, and that God was going to judge them, that she didn't care about their sad lives and how they worked hard, and blah blah blah, oh my gosh. Some of the arab men started just throwing stereotypes at her to feed the fire hah, like saying they immigrated because they don't have to work now, where as in their country they did, or other things. And she said..well anyways, I could start going in circles with what she was saying.

She had no good points, you could not even find one single valid thing she said. Nothing about immigration at all hah. She was just racist. Plain racist.

I need to stop ranting about the ranter. I took some video's of her, but I need to watch them and see if you can understand them, and also which one I want to post, since I took so many.

After that experience, I was ready to warm up indoors. But first I needed to buy my train/ferry ticket for getting to Dublin tomorrow. So I went to the Victoria station, bought that, and then went in search of my comfort zone, Starbucks. Found one, easily hah. Got my coffee, and thankfully a seat opened up in perfect timing for me to get a cozy nook in the corner. I wanted to read, journal, and just sit for a while. And that I did. Then, due to the crowding, a guy came and asked to share the table with me. Why not! So he did, and immediately made a phone call, IN FRENCH. I could not ignore this person anymore. He was French! So I struck up a conversation with him, and he has virtually no french accent, all british, because he has been working in Britain for 3 years, as an Engineer, and is about to take a new job back in Paris. Anyhow, we just had a nice conversation before he had to go catch his Coach. I love random conversations with strangers. I have had quite a few of those here in London. Good conversations with people whom I will never see again.

After Starbucks, I went in search of Westminster Abbey, there was a free organ recital, and that way I could go to a recital, AND get into the Abbey for free instead of normally paying around 10 pounds I think?

The abbey was beautiful, of course, and the organ music was pretty, but I just don't just don't understand a lot of organ music. It sounds offbeat to me! Like they are playing organized nonsense. Pretty notes, just at an awkward rhythm I guess. That is just me. After, I went back to the hostel, which is where I am now!

Dublin tomorrow!

Also, failed to take even one picture of myself here..

A Saturday in London

Well today was super chill and hectic all at the same time.

I started of my day, around 11 by the time I ate breakfast and got ready and all that, heading to the British Library. Now this was probably the place I had been looking forward to the most so far, because it was free, and had a lot of original manuscripts from dozens of brilliant composers, authors, and the like. So finally I was getting to go! When I got off the Tube, which was also right near a massive train station, I did not know exactly where to go, so I just kind of wandered around until I began to see signs for it hah. This became a theme of my day.

I found it in no time, and soon, I was admiring original manuscripts from the Bronte sisters, of Canterberry (spelling?) Tales, early prints of Shakespeare, scribbles by the Beatles, sprawlings of the 'Wedding March" piano music, early printings of the Bible in various languages, and one of their gems, one of original copies of the Magna Carta! So I spent quite a while just wandering around, attempting to read old handwritings, and getting my fill of literature :)

They also had, right in a different room, an exhibit of the language English.There were interactive displays, and the person that made the massive display, was looking into accents, and different dialects around the world and how they were created. Super interesting! I didn't want to leave the library after the display, so I went to the cafe and got a cappuccino (my new favorite at the moment) and read my book some/planned where to go next.

I decided the next place to go was to walk to the Soho district of London. Supposedly super trendy and good food and whatnot, so I started walking, little did I realize, it was a Saturday, and Christmas shopping time, basically it was PACKED on the streets. This helped because I really had no clue where I was going, so I just followed the masses. But honestly I started to get a bit stressed out. I love big cities, busy streets, lots of people, I don't know what got to me, but I had to take a breather in a 'Body Shop' because the pace of the streets was just a bit intense for some reason. After that, I was back out. And then I became very happy. Why? I saw first, American Apparel, then URBAN OUTFITTERS, then GAP! ack ack ack. Only pretty much my favorite stores ever. So I popped in all three. I want to shop SO BAD. I am in a clothes buying mood. But, I can't. I don't have money to, and I don't have space in my bags to. Sad. I love the European style. Londoner's style is different from Parisians style, and yet they are similar? And I love both of them. I need a new wardrobe haha. That is a lie. But I want one. I will transform it slowly.

After that, I wandered a bit more, found a Tube station, and headed to the Science Museum. I love interactive things haha, and it's free, so I chilled there until it closed. Then I walked up a main shopping street and looked at the wonderfully decorated Harrods! Super pretty. After that I went and got a Starbucks and a muffin, intending to sit down, but there was no space, so I headed back to the hostel. It was only around 7pm? maybe 8. But I ate my muffin and then promptly fell asleep for 3 ish hours. Then awoke, and could not sleep until around 2 am. Bad news to take a 'nap' so early haha. But shmeh. Life goes on

Friday, December 10, 2010

London Day 2!

Ah, have I mentioned that I love London? I do.

So I woke up, after a long restful 10 hours of sleep (I needed it), and went to get some free continental breakfast from my Hostel. I had some delicious breads, cereals, coffee, juice, etc. I took my fill so it would last me the day haha. Then I headed out to my first destination. The National Gallery. It is right at Trafalgar Square, free, and warm inside. So I used my transportation friend, the Tube, and got there easily. I walked around the entire thing and it slightly resembles the Louvre, so sadly, I did not appreciate the art as much as I should have. But I got to see plenty of Monet (one of his Water Liles paintings), Manet, Van Gogh, Renoir, etc. It was packed. After that, I walked across the street to St.-Martin-in-the-fields church because they were having a free lunchtime concert at 1pm! But I was about 30 minutes early, so I went down to their cafe in the crypt and they had delicious, decently priced, lunches! I got this sandwich that had turkey and cranberry sauce! I felt like I was eating Christmas on a bun. Mmmm. Then I looked at my watch and it was 1:05 pm! I had been planning my day, and lost track of time, so I ran upstairs..but it was too late. They weren't letting people in anymore and I could hear the beautiful 8 person "Cellophony" group. :(

Well on to the next thing! I walked through the streets on London and found my way to Covent Gardens. It was packed. I knew I was in tourist land. I walked through the markets they had up, which honestly weren't that good, walked through a 'Lush' shop, then headed to Starbucks. Don't judge. I planned where to go next, and started reading "Forgotten God" by Francis Chan. I definitely recommend it, even though I'm not even half way through.

Also, I love being able to understand the conversations around me. In France, it was a (good) exercise to understand the people around me. Here, although I still sometimes have to decipher accents, I can understand easier haha. Yayy.

So, next place I decided to go was Tate Modern. It is a fairly new museum for modern art in the south of London and so I made my way there. I had gotten a bit tired of art and the like from the National Gallery, but I needed not have worried, modern art is a whole new field. There is no way you can be bored or get tired of art in a modern art museum because it is so random. I did not know if I would super enjoy a museum like this, but I had to give it a try (and it was free), and I came to realized that I LOVE it! It is so interesting, and I am not the best 'art interpreter' but it was interesting to read little tidbits about what the artists were thinking and such. And the people that are visiting the museum are just as interesting to observe haha, trendy, artsy, sometimes a bit odd, people. I spent a few hours there, wishing the whole time Matthew (the bro) could have been there with me because I know he would have enjoyed it with me. Sigh, next time?

By the time I finished at the museum, it was dark out, and I didn't really know what to do next. It was near 6pm, and so many things were closing. I figured I would just start walking and see where I ended up ( in an smart direction of course). I started walking, saw the river, and Millennium Bridge. So I walked across it! It was awesome, and I looked down the river to see a lit up London Bridge heh. Cliche? Maybe. Beautiful and awesome? Yes.

I kept walking, following where the majority of the people in front of me went, and soon I was at a capitol building of sorts with a big christmas tree. Not sure exactly what it was. But then I kept walking and found my self at St. Paul's Cathedral. There was a massive line outside of it for some reason, so I observed, there was a Christmas tree up on the top ledge of it, and then popped in yet another Starbucks to think of what to do next.

I sat down on a comfy chair and commented to the guy sitting across from me how I had attempted reading the book he was reading "The Selfish Gene" but had failed. We chatted for a minute before we left eachother to our own business. After looking at my list of things I wanted to do here, not many could be done that late, so I got comfortable, planned Saturday and Sunday, read, talked to the guy a bit more (he's Dutch, living in Paris, never been to Texas, was waiting on his Friend, had his suitcases with him, and SO winked at me).

I decided then, it was nearing 8pm, to just head back to the Hostel, and grab some food on the way back, if I saw something quick. Which I did not, except for MacDo or Subway, which I respectfully declined.

I have taken a total of 3 pictures here. None of which are good. I really need to work harder at documenting this trip with pictures. I am not a picture taker. I love being in pictures, and taking pictures of other people, but when it comes to taking pictures of just things or just of myself, yeah...does not happen very often.

Anyhow. Today was not stressful, nicely paced, wonderful, and I can't wait for tomorrow!

Thursday, December 9, 2010

London, the beginning :D

I feel like it has been forever already since I left to come to London today. It most definitely has been a journey. And it is only 8:15pm right now and I am only awake because of a latte I forced myself to drink.

So last night, I took an overnight ferry from the port outside of Caen (a 25 minute bus ride out) to Portsmouth, England. I got to the ferry terminal ouside of Caen 2 hours early because I had to take the bus and the last bus of the night was still pretty early. So I sat in the terminal, got a Cappuccino, and journaled. At first it was just truckers in the terminal, a little unsettling thinking that was who I was going to be travelling for almost 8 hours with on a ferry, but slowely, older couples and families trickled in and I felt more comfortable. Before long, we boarded! I got a stamp in my passport, put my bags through and x-ray, then followed more knowledgable travellers onto the MASSIVE ferry. I know it is not even close, but I felt like I was entering the Titanic. Never having been on a cruise ship or the like, it was insanely big to me. They have elevators on the ferry. So I followed a couple and we entered this big room that slightly resembled a movie theater combined with an airplane. There were probably 10 people total in a room that sat 150, so we got to spread out. I then made myself comfortable in order to sleep.

Worst sleep of my life. The chair would not stay leaned back, and it was just cold enough where my jacket and scarf would not keep me warm (as my body slowed down in sleep mode). So I tried to sleep in the fetal position, in a chair, which gave me random pains in my body. Therefore, every 30 minutes to hour I was shifting, for the whole ride. But it was an experience and now I know what to expect when I take the 19ish hour ferry back to France from Ireland.

Finally we arrived in England! I followed people (a very useful thing to do when by yourself in unknown territory) and found myself sipping a coffee in the terminal waiting for my coach (greyhound ish bus) to take me 2 hours to London. Got on the bus! Read a newspaper in English, tried reading some Rick Steves London chapter, then got a bit carsick and promptly fell asleep.

The next time I opened my eyes I was looking at the streets of London through my window! It looked so...well so British haha. I loved it. Just like Paris, I was in love with London. How cliche.

We got to the station and I quickly got going to find the Tube station to get to my hostel and drop off my (ever increasing in weight) backpack. Found the station. Victoria Train Station which connected to the Tube. I found out later that it is famous? I got in line to get my Oyster Card (a refillable metro pass that is refillable). THen I was off to find my hostel. I was so excited to be able to wander around this new place by myself, such a new adventure.

With a bit of extra wandering, I found my hostel and dropped my bag off, brushed my teeth, etc.

Now I had heard from other friends that this company, 'New Europe Tours' gives free tours around the major cities in Europe. They accept tips at the end, and are supposed to be super interesting. I had done some research, and found a meeting point for one of the tours at 1pm. I found the meeting point, The Arc of Wellington, but I was half an hour early, so I wandered to Hyde Park which was across the street, and explored a 'Winter Wonderland' Christmas market that was set up! It was oddly familiar to the one that was going on in Caen when I left...just bigger, more food, and more expensive.

Soon it was tour time, and I went over to the group of people huddled. 5 minutes or so later, our interesting tour guide led us off on our 2.5 hour tour! I met a New Yorker, and 2 Australians in the course of the tour, all very nice, and our tour guide grew up in Calgary! Fun connections :)

I honestly could not even list all the places we went. It was a 'New London Tour' so we saw government buildings, squares, Palaces, etc. Super interesting because our guide was not only knowledgeable, he was funny. Loved loved it. Definitely look up the tours if you are in any major european city! As we were ending our tour around Trafalgar (spelling is prob wrong) square, guess what we ran into!? STUDENT PROTESTS. The biggest out of the three or four they have had in the past few months over the government wanting to almost triple their tuition costs. I can understand their anger. So we were right in the thick of it. I LOVED IT. It was the early stages of the protest so it hadn't officially 'started' yet. So we just got to walk around the masses of students collecting, and then we got to walk past the police baracades forming because we had our handy dandy tour guide who flashed a pass and talked to them to explain how we were not involved. Oh yeahh. Right as we ended our tour, a few yards away from the main protest point, the riot broke out, we heard tons of cheering and yelling, people running, smoke coming from who knows where, ack, so exciting! We were not close enough to be harmed or involved but we got to watch all of it happening. Legit.

After the tour, I went to officially check into my hostel. I showered, rested, and then forced myself to go get some food and coffee so that I would not fall aslep too early. I walked down a main road and found a mini mall with a, ironically enough, french boulangerie, where I got a sandwich and latte. Mmmm. Food.

Now i'm back at the hostel, in the common room. They are having movie night and "Body of Lies" with Leonardo DiCaprio is playing. And they gave us popcorn. :)

Go London! I am so excited for the next few days!

OH. It is super cold here. The entire tour I was cold, and by the end, my wrists had gone numb. And my hands, but my wrists too! It was super weird because when I would try to bend my wrists they felt super weak and would move in slow motion, and when I tried to enter a number in my phone, my thumbs literallywould not move a the speed I wanted them to, it was super trippy.

Sunday, December 5, 2010

Random Video

I thought I would just do a thoughts video. Aka my thoughts right now. I was a bit tired recording it, and a bit sad haha, still am a tad sad when I think about leaving in a few days. But thought I would just reflect some and show where I am right now.   :)

The rest of my weekend in Switzerland ( a few weeks delay I know..)

Friday was our tour around Lausanne. We woke up, and after getting ready went upstairs to their kitchen where the family was enjoying a peaceful breakfast. They were SO wonderful giving us free breakfast! We had a very traditional breakfast of bread and jam (called tartines). Isabelle has to go to one class, so we headed to her campus and she showed us around some first. IT is literally located right beside this massive lake that is facing the mountains. It was beyond beautiful. They get to see this incredible view inbetween classes! Or while eating their lunch in the cafeteria! Wow. Her sister, Marianne came along, and after Isa parted for her class, Marianne began to give us a tour. We took a nice walk along the water looking at the swans and ducks that gather in various groups along the shore. And walked out on a few small piers to soak up even more, the immensity of the lake and mountain view. After that, we went to town! Lausanne is not massive, but it has the perfect mix of history and modernity. Very very technologically advanced stuff (transportation, buildings) and yet some of the roads, a massive cathedral, and other buildings, kept intact the original Swiss vibe. So we met Isa a few hours later and went and got some Chinese food for lunch. 

Now pause.  Everything in Switzerland is expensive. The exchange rate right now is on par with the dollar pretty much (and they have the coolest 5 swiss franc coins) but their prices are insane. A ‘cheap’ meal is 13 swiss francs. That is not cheap! Most places you pay on average around 20 swiss francs or more. However they get paid more and their minimum wage is higher too so it balances out, but still, crazy.

After lunch we wandered around town some more then went to a different part of the lake. It had a massive pier and a small port where there were some ferries. And we just soaked in the view even more. And as it was getting dark by that point, we wandered through the Olympic museum’s park (with a lot of famous statues by famous artists) then stopped in a local cafe for the most delicious cappuccino i’ve ever had. Oh my gosh. SO good. Then, back to their home.

Their mom, the sweetest woman ever, had prepared the most delicious dinner EVER. She had made this meat dish with one meat, wrapped in another meat, wrapped with these onions and mushrooms, then finally wrapped in a pie crust and cooked. Then it was cut into slices, mmmmmmmm. Along with that was rice, salad, and for dessert, a homemade meringue with this strawberry cream sauce. Holy cow, Chelsea and I were eating heaven.

That evening we just relaxed, and I read some classic French children’s books/comics that Isa showed me. Still on the difficult side to understand even though they were children’s books! Haha. Then Sleepy Time.
Saturday was perhaps my favorite day, as it included more mountains, a chocolate factory, and fondue! So we left their house the next morning with Isa, her brother, her friend, Chelsea, and I. We were driving now (the brother drove) and we drove for about 45 minutes into the mountains! There we stopped at the Cailler chocolate factory. You could literally smell the chocolate as we walked up to the doors. Yes. Smell the chocolate. We got student discounts and headed in for our tour. Which mostly consisted of the history, then we got to see some of the production lines! And after, a tasting J. I thought it was just going to be like one piece. But no, they had a line of all of their major chocolates, milk, dark, white, filled, etc. And we could try as many as we wanted! I just tried little bites of each one and I could not even make it all the way around before I was feeling completely stuffed. So good though. It was perfect because after tasting all of them, we headed to the store where we could buy our favorites! SO MUCH CHOCOLATE.

After that we headed even further into the mountains to this small town where we parked and went on a hike! Now this was a bit impromptu as we did not really dress accordingly. But we wanted to see the mountains. So we walked. Up and up and up, trying to reach the snow. We failed. But got an amazing view by the end! 

After we headed into a different town to get lunch. It was packed in the town. They were having a massive marathon and the entire town was outdoors. SO fun! We got to get the feel for a warm Swiss town as there were bake sales, bands playing, signs everywhere. Then we popped into a restaurant and got some delicious traditional fondue. MMM. It was cheese fondue and we dipped bread and potatoes in. We all 5 shared it and it was a perfect amount! Then it was time to head home. Such a fun day! We were not hungry when we got back, and the mom was getting ready to go to a play, so she left dinner on the stove for us when we got hungry. So Isa, Chelsea and I watched a french film that is super famous over here “L’auberge Espagnol” which is about a French guy who goes to study abroad in Spain and encounters a wide mix of cultures and people there. A while later, dinner, which was a rice and meat dish, and after, sadly it was time for bed.

The next morning we woke up, had this delicious homemade bread the mom makes every Sunday, and then she graciously took us in her car to the train station! SO sweet of her considering we could have taken a different train to get to the main station and saved her a trip. We could not thank the family enough for their hospitality, and as we took our 4 hour train ride back to Paris, Chelsea and I often commented in amazement at the weekend we had just had. Probably the best so far.

THe Beginning of my Swiss Weekend. Getting There.

Yes this is going to be massively long This is what I wrote the night we arrived in Lausanne. :)


What a whirlwind of a day. Insane. So today was the day that Chelsea and I were leaving for Switzerland! We had talked with Isa, a girl I met through Paula this summer, and she was super nice and said we could stay with her and she would show us Lausanne, her town! So of course we agreed and said we would come for a weekend :)

So skip to today, Thursday, and our train is leaving Caen at 11:58am. I got out of class at 10:30 and we left campus by 11:00. Just enough time to run to the bank to switch out and get some swiss francs! However, the man at the counter after wandering around for 5 minutes, let us know they only had a few large bills, so we exchanged just a little bit, then had to rush out to catch the tram to take us to the train. Speed walk to the tram station. It is approximately 11:35? All of a sudden an announcement comes on from the tram station, due to technical difficulties, the tram is down and they suggest we take a bus to our destination. Well, Chelsea and I have pretty much never used the bus system and didn't even know where the nearest stop was in the direction we needed to go, OR which bus to even take! We run to the nearest map. Ok, we know the lines that take us there. We run to the nearest one we see, ask someone, realize we need to go to another station a block away.

By now, i'm looking at my watch, and we have 13 minutes before our TRAIN leaves for Paris. Thankfully the bus pulled up in a minute. We piled on, and all there was to do now was wait. This WOULD be the time that every single stop someone needed to get off, and there was bad traffic because of construction, and the trams not working, so we were sitting still a lot of the bus time. Ack. I knew there was nothing I could do at this moment. Chelsea and I were both silently praying. Our train was leaving in 5 minutes and we were not even at the station yet. And the trains Caen to Paris are at the station for like 2 minutes or less before departing. I said "God, if we make this train it is all you, because there is NO way that we can make it in time. Please supernaturally poof this bus there, or stall the train to Paris. If you want me to get there, I trust you will some how make it possible." And with that. I was calm. It was out of my hands, if I was supposed to be on tha train I would be.

The bus pulls around the corner and I see the train station. Then we get stopped. Again. We were SO CLOSE, yet so far away! We just waited, until the bus moved forward and opened its doors for us. At which point Chelsea and I waited for the old lady in front of us to get off, then got off, and sprinted past her and everyone else. I just took off in a run, knowing that CHelsea would be right behind me. I turn, see her running awkwardly in order to keep her boots on haha, and we  ran up to this little machine we had to scan our tickets into. I ran off before it was finished and my ticket caught in the machine! I jolted backwards and grabbed the ticket then ran to catch up with Chelsea who had sprinted down the stairs. We ran through a tunnel and then up the stairs to the platform where our train was. Laughing the whole way, we pop out of the stairs to see everyone waiting, and now watching us, as the train was delayed! Praise Jesus! We just stopped on the stairs and burst out laughing more, to the amusement of the crowd i'm sure. We regained our composure, some, and went to sit down and catch our breath, slash get away from the stares. And for the next few minutes just talked about how we could not believe we were going to make this train. Holy cow. The train came, we got on, and we got to Paris! It does not seem as dramatic typing it out, but it was the most insane thing ever. There was no way we should have made our train, Jesus so delayed that train for us.

So we get to Paris and had around an hour and a half to burn before needing to be at our second train station, a few metro stops away. So we went and grabbed a sandwich, then popped into starbucks for a bit so chelsea could work on some homework..and so I could get a coffee. :)

Then we got to the next train station and hopped on our train going to Lausanne! At this point I was finally 100% relieved. We were going to make it to Lausanne in one piece. So I bunkered down, put in my heaphones and dozed for a while. I had been texting Isa some, and she was meeting us at the train station!
We get there, wander around for like 4 minutes, then run across her sitting, waiting for us. Perfect! She told us her mom was waiting with a car to take us to their home. HOW nice! I did not know they were going to go to such lengths to help us out! So we drove around 15 minutes to a suburb village town of Lausanne where her family lives. They have an entire mini studio room seperate from the main house that they are letting us stay in! 

There is a bed/palatte, bathroom, covers, towels, a shower, all things I never take for granted now, and they were providing them for us so willingly! Wow. We were both in a daze of happiness as Isa showed us around there beautiful Swiss home. After, they had some food they had saved from dinner for us! Homemade pumpkin soup, some bread, and this homemade pastry dessert (which we asked and got the recipe for hehe). After we talked in their living room for a bit. Her family is wonderful and so nice. We got to meet her parents, her brother and her sister! Isa is wonderful. And now it is sleep time because we get to explore Lausanne tomorrow.