Yes. It has been a week. It feels like it was only a few days ago that I was in Paris, but no, it has already been a week! Every time I would think about blogging this past week, It would feel pointless because nothing in my day had been even remotely interesting compared to Paris. But I have realized that, it doesn’t matter. I can make anything interesting with the right description haha :). and Here we go.
So here is my weekly recap!
All my classes this week went well. I am still not feeling challenged in my courses but I hope that in the next few weeks it will pick up some. If not, I am going to be studying extra on the side, and I might ask my teachers for some extra work to do on my own time? I don't know if they will have any for me but I might as well ask! Phonetics is still super fun, and I am holding back laughter every time I have the headphones on and am repeating very pronunciated syllables from a funny man. My teacher in my French Oral class (the one who salsa dances) has not ceased to impress Chelsea and me with her daily wardrobe. She has 3 dresses (that we have seen so far), that are extravagantly dancer ish, with ruffles, layers, and just an all around awesomeness. Every day she switches it up just enough to keep it interesting and I think she has noticed Chelsea and I watching as she takes off her coat each day haha...awkward? Civilization class has become boring...sadly. Our teacher is super nice, and the content COULD be interesting, but there is no class participation, just her talking the whole time (and although that happens at Baylor...it is not in French at Baylor..), so instead I am finding myself with drifting thoughts while my teacher talks about the culture of France, the history of the monuments in Caen, and the various French holidays that are strikingly familiar to the ones in America.
Also, as I write this, I am eating a half baked baguette with nutella (I LOVEEE NUTELLA)...in my room, on a rainy afternoon. I just woke up from a 3.5 hour nap too...might have been too long...oops.
So this week, around Wednesday, Chelsea and I started talking about where to go next! We found an amazing wine festival going on in Italy in 2 weekends and began to research :) heh. And we also had a backup plan to go to Versailles for the weekend (since we missed it on our Paris trip). Friday, we went and asked Cederic (our study abroad 'go to' guy) and he informed us that we can't leave the country yet if it is by plane (which we would be doing if we went to Italy)...so scratch the wine festival. We decided that we would not travel anywhere this weekend we would get some errands done, and just plan instead!
What errands did we have? Well shopping of course! After a chill Friday, we woke up Saturday and hit the town! Even though it rained all day, it was a bustling town. We are so privileged to be a 5 minute tram ride from the center of town with more shops than I will ever see, so we headed down, made a list, and attacked!
IT was wonderful haha. We did not even enter shops that were too expensive however. And the thing I LOVE about French stores is that in all of their window displays, on the floor of the display, they tell you the price of the entire outfit displayed (article by article), so you know immediately if the store is in your price range or not. I managed to grab a few shirts, a sweater or two, and some new grey jeans (my mom will be happy because they will be in a sense, replacing my worn grey ones that she abhors). Scarves have become my favorite clothing article here too, not that I have even bought any (just using the multiple ones that I brought), because they add the perfect extra layer of warmth that just jazzes up your outfit!
So after shopping for the main part of the day, we went back to our rooms to recuperate (short nap and a pear for me), and then headed out to see a movie! We were going to see 'Wall Street', but then realized that there would be a lot more conversation, and less action, it being a money/economy movie, and opted for 'Town', instead. We had heard nothing about this movie and just saw that there were famous people in it...so 4 euro later, we are sitting in a super small theater (like one at a person's house...just kidding not quite THAT small), and were waiting for the lights to dim. Movie theaters here are HOT. We were shedding layers in no time, but I like that better than in the States where you have to bring multiple layers to cover up because it is FREEZING. Anyway, soon the movie started. ACK, I suddenly remembered the movie was going to be in French! Simple brain lapse. They literally dub over the character's voices, so the mouth moving does not match up, obviously, but it is a professional job because all the background noises are there, and when the mouth stops moving, so does the voice haha. But it was SO WEIRD. Ben Affleck did not sound like himself...and it was freaky. At least we did not have to worry about inappropriate language, because we couldn't hear/understand the French version. And it was pretty sweet because we could follow the movie, and any random conversation we had no clue what they were saying, we could just make up what we wanted to happen in our heads! So in a sense, it was the best movie ever, because half of it was my idea :)
Sunday we went to church and saw Lottie, our British friend there again. So nice! After Chelsea and I ran to the market so we could stock up for the week. I wanted to get some Converse, finally, and some lunch as well. Moroccan food? Ok! The guy recognized me and we exchanged smiles and a few comments. And as he was handing me my 5 euro bill change, I most definitely dropped it in his MASSIVE pot of broth. uh...awkward.
He assured me it was no big deal and handed me another one, I'm glad we are friends haha.
Converse stand was out of my size, but they said next week. So I shall wait. And after some pears, potatoes, and carrots, I was ready to go!
That is pretty much it for this week. More photos from France will come eventually when I can get them from other people and hopefully before too long we will be going on another trip!
Homework time, I have my first mini test in French Writing tomorrow, I'm excited :)
No comments:
Post a Comment